Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP14

Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
William Greenell [ARW's son] Wallace
23 June 1891

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Corfe View, Parkstone, Dorset to William Greenell [ARW's son] Wallace [none given] on 23 June 1891.

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.
Verified by:
24/01/2012 - Catchpole, Caroline (All except summary checked);


Writes about dental treatment for William, with sketch map of location of dental surgery, refers to enclosed card (not present); upcoming [College] holidays.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:


A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/1/14
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate
Record scrutiny:
24/01/2012 - Catchpole, Caroline;

Physical description

Transcription information




Parkstone, Dorset

June 23rd. 1891

My dear Will

I enclose you Mr. Hedges card. Tell him to take out your rotten tooth & put in a new one & send the account to me. He will remember seeing you before & spoke to him about you. You will probably have to go two or three times, as your gum will have to heal & get hard before the new tooth can be got in, so you had better go next Saturday, at 10 am.

I send you [[2]] cheque for £2.0.0. I hope you will bring home a good lot of work to do in the holidays or you will be miserable. Work in the morning, tennis or walks in the afternoon will conduce to health & happiness.

I enclose an amusing scrap.

Your affectionate Papa | Alfred R. Wallace [signature]

[[3]] [A sketch of the route to Mr. Hodges appears here]

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.