Wallace Letters Online

Share this:

Record number: WCP13

Sent by:
Alfred Russel Wallace
Sent to:
William Greenell [ARW's son] Wallace
15 June 1891

Sent by Alfred Russel Wallace, Corfe View, Parkstone, Dorset to William Greenell [ARW's son] Wallace [none given] on 15 June 1891.

Record created:
01 June 2002 by Lucas, Paula J.
Verified by:
24/01/2012 - Catchpole, Caroline (All except summary checked);


Talks of a lecture on Land Nationalisation; William's sister Violet; Mr and Mrs Cockerell going to Jamaica; death and funeral of Mrs [Allinson]; visit to Meldola's [possibly Finsbury Technical College] various visitors to the house.

Record contains:

  • letter (1)

View item:


A typical letter handwritten by author in English and signed by author.

Held by:
Natural History Museum
Finding number:
NHM WP1/1/13
Copyright owner:
ŠA. R. Wallace Literary Estate
Record scrutiny:
24/01/2012 - Catchpole, Caroline;

Physical description

Transcription information




Parkstone, Dorset.

June 15th, 1891

My dear Will

When you describe any such "accidents" again please put it on a separate piece of paper as Ma was unable to read your letter in consequence of such horrors.

I enclose a Card in case you and any friends like to come on Thursday Evening to hear me preach on Land Nationalisation. Violet & a lot of her friends will be there. [[2]] I have at last settled with Mr. Rigler & Mr. Ponbon & all is pretty straight. The garden is looking very nice with lots of flowers.

Mr. & Mrs. Cockerell1,2 were here today. They are going to Jamaica in a few weeks. I gave him an a pocket Aneroid as a remembrance & for his held in correcting "Island Life." -- Mrs. Allman died last Thursday & was [[3]] buried on Saturday. I went to the funeral. Our neighbours Col. Nichol, his wife, sister & little girls are very nice people -- & the sister, Miss. Cooper, is a crack tennis player, & they have the court opposite them marked out & their straining poles down.

Being very busy I can write no more just now. I was at Meldolas a fortnight ago at time of Exams. [[4]] I suppose you got the Conic Section book.

You affectionate Papa | Alfred R. Wallace -- [signature]


1. Theodore Dru Alison Cockerell (1866 -- 1948). American zoologist.

2. Annie Sarah Fenn Cockerell (1857 - 1893) first wife of T. D. A. Cockerell.

Please note that work on this transcript is not yet complete. Users are advised to study electronic image(s) of this document, if available.