Museum appoints new trustees

12 May 2008

The Natural History Museum is pleased to announce the appointment of three new trustees.

Professor Sir Roy Anderson, Professor David Drewry and Dr Derek Langslow provide the Museum's Board with expertise in science and academic management, business and finance.

Professor Sir Roy Anderson

Professor Sir Roy Anderson has been co-opted by the Board to serve an initial four-year term from 1 April 2008. Currently Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology in the faculty of Medicine at Imperial College London, Professor Sir Roy has just returned from the Ministry of Defence, where he has been Chief Scientific Adviser for the past three years.  He takes up the position of Rector of Imperial in July 2008. 

His previous positions include the Linacre Professorship and Head of Zoology, University of Oxford (1993-98), Professor of Parasite Epidemiology and Head of Biology at Imperial (1984-93) and Director of the Wellcome Trust Centre for Infectious Disease Epidemiology, University of Oxford (1995-2000).  He is a Fellow of the Royal Society, the Academy of Medical Sciences and a Foreign Associate Member of the Institute of Medicine at the US National Academy of Sciences. 

He has published over 450 scientific papers on the epidemiology, population biology, evolution and control of a wide variety of infectious disease agents, including HIV, BSE, foot and mouth, vCJD, SARS and dengue, parasitic melminths and protozoa, and respiratory tract viral and bacterial infections.  His principal research interests are epidemiology, population biology, evolutionary biology, biomathematics, demography and parasitology. 

He also has a keen interest in science policy and the public understanding of science.  He was knighted in the Queen's 2006 birthday honours.  He has held a wide variety of advisory and consultancy posts with government departments, pharmaceutical companies and international aid agencies, and is a non-executive director of GlaxoSmithKline.

Professor David Drewry

Professor David Drewry has been appointed by the Prime Minister to serve an initial four-year term from 6 May 2008. Professor Drewry is Vice-Chancellor of The University of Hull, a Visiting Professor at the University of London, Queen Mary and Honorary Fellow of Emmanuel College, Cambridge. 

His background is in the earth sciences and climate change and he has held senior positions at both academic and scientific organisations, as Director of the British Antarctic Survey and of the Scott Polar Research Institute, and prior to that as Deputy Chief Executive of the Natural Environment Research Council. 

He was also Director General of the British Council for a short time.  Professor Drewry is a non-executive director of The Deep (millennium project) in Hull and a Trustee of the Antarctic Heritage Trust.  He was President of the International Arctic Science Committee between 1994-2002 and Vice-President of the Royal Geographical Society from 1991-1993.

Dr Derek Langslow

Dr Derek Langslow has been appointed by the Prime Minister to serve an initial four-year term from 6 May 2008. Dr Langslow was Chief Executive of English Nature (EN) from 1990 to 2000. 

Previously he worked as a research scientist and lecturer at Cambridge and Edinburgh Universities before joining the Chief Scientist Team of the Nature Conservancy Council (NCC).  Initially he ran the ornithological research programme before being responsible for the finance and management of the team. 

For three years he was Director of Personnel and Finance.  Dr Langslow has sat on numerous boards, trusts and Committees and lead Quinquennial Reviews.  He is currently a Trustee of the Heritage Lottery Fund (to February 2008) and Chairs their Audit Committee.